Back to Writing.

I promised to write about my experiences here and I broke that promise about 5 months ago when I ceased writing. Sometimes life kicks your ass a bit. The last 5 months have certainly been a wild ride, and I haven’t wanted to talk about all my experiences publicly. Sometimes you don’t want to admit what you’ve been going through. Sometimes you can’t because you don’t want to hurt the people around you or lose your job. These are probably reasonable excuses. However, now that I will be leaving this place behind, I hope I can go back and recall some of my experiences before they are too dim and unrecognizable for me to imagine anymore. I hope that if I talk in some of my friends in detail, they won’t mind how I characterize them. I hope that if I criticize my former place of employment, my future employers will see it as trying to do good and improve the way organizations work, not simply mindless bashing because I have a bad taste in my mouth. If you can’t write truthfully and honestly, what is the point of writing at all? I don’t want be a PR spokesperson of my own reality.

I have less than a week remaining before I depart Nepal. I feel as though I have the whole world in front of me, looking to smack me in the face with its new surprises. I’m not leaving on my own terms. I wanted to stay, I wanted another year of adventures in Asia. My health and my wallet have made that impossible. So instead I’ll be settling for 12 days in Thailand before I head back to Michigan. My number one goal is to get better. One I am healthy again, anything is possible. My number two goal is to find employment again and get my career back on track. In between, I have to make sure I record the lessons I have learned here, for my own benefit and the benefit of others. And finally, I don’t want to give up my dream of living abroad, yet again… whether that takes months or years to happen. I don’t know where I will go next, but idea of settling down is nowhere near my short-term plans.

So keep in touch with my blog as I reimagine the events and experiences that have taken hold of me here.

One thought on “Back to Writing.

Leave a Reply

