Two months in Nepal!

Life moves incredibly fast.
It’s been over 8 weeks now since I first touched down in Nepal; two months seems like both a very short period and an eternity. It’s incredible how much I have learned, adapted and evolved in this very short period of time. A friend to remain anonymous sent me a Facebook message basically telling me it looks like I’ve joined an Asian gang. Well, in a way I really have… not the badass gangster kind of course, but a community of Nepalis who really do take care of me. In Nepal, they often refer to friends and elders as brothers, aunties, uncles, etc., even though there is no blood relation. Truly they are appropriate designations for the way that they treat one another.
My friend Shail suggested I take on a Nepali middle name to further accumulate me to the culture, and simply because it is fun. I have temporarily taken on the middle name Bahadur which means brave in  Nepal. It is a very popular name often held by warriors and statesmen in Nepal. For me, it’s a form of Nepalization and a humorous way to introduce myself. It think just adds to my reputation of being… a “character.”
Other parts of American culture I still cling to. I spent several hours of sporadic refreshing on my iTouch wireless to keep up with the Tigers playoff updates as they played the New York Yankees on Sunday morning (Saturday night in NYC).I was still swearing about Valverde with the millions of fans miles away in the US. Even with no video, audio and text that often lags behind the real action, I find myself still incredibly addicted to the same interests I had back home. I also have been following Pistons rookie Andre Drummond and have been impressed with his rapid progression so far in the preseason. The Pistons may really have the real deal with this guy.
I continue to enjoy meeting so many people in this crazy city. It is so easy to do, whether they are Nepali, American, European, Australian… people are so friendly and open, greeting you with open arms. It is like a whole community of similar-minded people. In that way, the world could learn a lot from this place. In other ways, like urban planning, this city is in the stone ages (literally stone…).
This upcoming week starts Dashain, one of the largest festivals of the year for Nepal. I get nearly a week off to relax and I’ve decided to travel to the resort towns of Pokhara. I have heard so much about the beauty of this city I am excited to finally see what all the fuss is about. I plan to do some adventure sports and relax next to the beautiful lake in the mountains. I’ll take lots of pictures for this one.
Last note – I got back Sunday evening to my host family at 6:50pm, about 10 minutes early to my nightly curfew of 7pm . The outside gate was locked. Uh oh. I tried calling the family, but their numbers were not available. I had only one choice – to jump the outside fence with brutally pointy spikes everywhere. Luckily I made it safely, and even got to eat dinner on time. Here is where the unfortunate part is for me. In Nepal, most “deadlines” are extremely flexible. Somehow I got the one family where a 7pm curfew means 6:45pm. I hope they understand why I never stay during the weekend. For some reason, I doubt this is the last time this happens. Let’s hope that’s not the case…
Overlook of Kalanki and Monkey Temple in the distance
Getting ready for Dashain

Tonight’s dinner… ahahaha!

Love these kids

Porka the acrobat!

Amit was so nervous he would fall

Blinging temple!

Leave a Reply

