My New Home in Syuchatar

Though I have not been able to update much, a significant amount of important things have happened in the past few weeks. To top off the list, I finally moved out of the hostel and in with my host family. I also finally made the purchase of my very own scooter! I’m happy to get this out of the way, simply because it had become a running joke at the hostel. Every day I would be asked when I was moving out, and every day I would reply “maybe today” or “maybe tomorrow.” This went out for at least 3 or 4 weeks of disappointments, as the scooter never came and the host family was never prepared for me. Well bitches I’m finally moved out.
On the way to my new home…

The host family quarters – 3 stories of Nepali luxury

I actually became quite adjusted to living in the hostel and it was a little bittersweet to move out. However, it was difficult to live there for several reasons. There was absolutely no privacy whatsoever, as I was sharing a room with new volunteers every few nights. Now, I was actually pretty good at making friendships and enjoying the time I had there. I would get to know someone, hang out with them for a week, and they would inevitably leave for their project, or go back to their home country. In a way it was a little bit heartbreaking, as having to say goodbye to so my friendships as they were just starting. In that way I am glad I am moving on from the hostel. I can always visit anytime I want.
Saying goodbye to the hostel

My host family is actually the family of one of the owners of RCDP and its partner organizations. At first, moving into the home I was very intimidated. It was like culture shock all over again. Besides the host mother, the English spoke by the family is very limited. Also, they are very strict with their curfew rules, making social life a challenge. Having to be home at 7pm is a little harsher than even I expected. During the week, it doesn’t really bother me as I usually go to bed at 9:30 anyway. But with the weekends my only real chance to do anything, well it is a bit of a bum­­mer. Luckily I can crash at friend’s homes or the hostel really whenever I need to, salvaging some social life opportunities. I will have to be a bit crafty to make it work.

On the way to my room

My little room off to the side

One of many spectacular views from the house
The host family definitely grown on me. There are really two familes that live there – my official host family their child, and their grand parents; and the house workers and their three children. The children are especially beautiful, physically and in their demeanor. The two guest parents are always smiling and helpful, the father always helping me or trying to serve me, even though we barely understand each other. Being around the host family grandpa and grandma was the most intimidating at first, as the grandma would stare at me with reservation with the sternest look on her face. However, today I had some weird fever and she went out of her way to check my temperature and make sure I was taken care of. Sometimes first impressions are deceiving. I took Nepali medicine, and to my surprise I have seemed to make a full recovery. Sometimes local knows best.
The older children of the house worker are most impressive. There’s really nothing to do out here, no social life, no entertainment save for the TV – which is always on. Yet they take care of the family constantly. I was never even close to their level of maturity at their age. If only we were all lucky to have children like these. The toddlers on the other had are hilarious – loud, crying, getting into trouble.
Yes this place is a little isolating, but it also might be good for me. It is really immerse, a real adaptation of a really different lifestyle. And it’s an opportunity to catch up on reading, writing, and meditation in a place with few distractions. 

Leave a Reply

