Discovering Moderation: Is it possible?

I spent a lot of time criticizing Facebook usage in earlier posts, but now I’ve had time to see things more clearly. Is Facebook inherently a bad thing? No I don’t think so. Do the ways we use it encourage us to be less in the moment, more judgmental, and simplistic in our viewpoints? Yes, I think they can. This is my main criticism of it.

One thing I have noticed is that without Facebook, I spent a lot more time in other means of online communication, such as forums, blogs, websites etc. Instead of getting my updates from a “feed” of all things social, I search them out. On these online resources, people spend more time writing meaningful decisions, and the idea of an online “community” exists. These features are pretty lacking on Facebook.

So I really haven’t disconnected myself from the greater online world at all, just it’s major feeder. I have to spend a large amount of time at work and at home in front of a computer screen whether I like it or not. And online communication and Facebook has helped me facilitate REAL relationships in real time on many occasions. It has also given me stress and anxiety on others. So it can’t be all that bad, can it? Is there a middle way towards Facebook, can we use it in moderation and for good?

I think this is what I need to discover after I am finished. What is the best way to use this device and still remaining happy? Are purges like this helpful to realign one’s live? We shall see soon.

I will write a book: The Facebook doctrine.

Happiness to you until next time.

Leave a Reply

